Orient Mice – Tour Operator to Uzbekistan & Central AsiaOrient Mice – Tour Operator to Uzbekistan & Central Asia
Forgot password?


General information about Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan is a territory, where high mountains occupied a large part of territory. It is home to a large number of rare animals, as well as the country with rich flora. The lakes with crystal-clear water, waterfalls and mountain rivers attract lovers of nature.

One of the main natural attractions of Kyrgyzstan – is the Issyk-Kul lake. Also, in this land preserved a large number of ancient monuments and architectural structures.

The Suleiman Mount (or as residents call it here – Solomon) – is a sacred relic woods and walnut groves of Arslan Baba, a caravan-serai of Tash Rabat, medical sources of Burana Tower and much more.

Thanks to historical tour of Kyrgyzstan, you will have the opportunity to walk along the paths of the Great Silk Road, to visit interesting and beautiful natural surroundings and know ancient customs and traditions of this nation.

General information:

  • Location: North-east of Central Asia;
  • Area: 198.5 square kilometers;
  • Population: 5,663,100 people;
  • Capital: Bishkek;
  • Language: Kyrgyz – state, Russian – official;
  • Religion: Islam, Orthodox Christianity, other religions;
  • Internet zone: kg;
  • National currency: Som.

In 1991, the Kyrgyz Republic gained its independence and was considered an independent sovereign state. Power divided into tree branch: judicial, executive and legislative. The supreme power belong to the bicameral Parliament and the President.

Kyrgyz Republic Flag

The flag is red. At its center is yellow Sun and Kyrgyz yurt in the sun.

The flag of the Kyrgyz Republic was adopted in 1992.

Red symbolizes courage and valor, the sun – wealth and peace, and a yurt – the world.

Emblem of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan:

Emblem of Kyrgyzstan was adopted in 1994. It was created by S. Dubanaev and A. Abdraev.

In the center of emblem depicted spurs of Ala-Too and the Issyk-Kul Lake, the sun rises over them. Also, there is a falcon with outstretched wings.

Falcon symbolizes the independence of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, the sun – wealth and life.

The country is located in the north-eastern part of Central Asia, and covers by the Tien Shan and Pamir-Altai mountains.

The Republic of Kyrgyzstan borders with Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and China.

In the Republic are more than 2,000 artificial reservoirs and lakes, and more than more than 28,000 rivers.

The main cities of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan is Bishkek (the capital), Osh and Karakol.

The climate in the country is considered to be sharply continental, but in an area near the Issyk-Kul lake – the climate is closer to the sea.

National holidays:

  • 1 of January – New Year;
  • On January, 7 – Orthodox Christmas;
  • On March, 21 – Nooruz;
  • On May, 1 – International Workers’ Day;
  • On May, 5 – the Constitution Day;
  • On May, 9 – the Victory Day;
  • On August, 31 – the Independence Day.

Muslim holidays are “Orozo Ait” and “Kurman Ait”. These days are considered aa public holidays.

The official currency in the Republic of Kyrgyzstan is Som. You can exchange dollars and euros for the local currency in the exchange offices and banks. Also in the country are accepted Visa card.

You have the right to import and export currency from the country in unlimited quantities. The most important thing – is to declare this amount.