The national currency
of Uzbekistan

The national currency of Uzbekistan is the sum. It has been introduced in Uzbekistan since 1994 and is currently the only means of payment on the territory of the republic. Banknotes of face value are in active circulation in denominations of 1000, 2000, 5000, 10 000, 20 000, 50 000, and 100,000 sums. Banknotes of various denominations differ in their color scheme. The banknotes depict monuments of culture and art in Uzbekistan. Since 2004, the Uzbek sum has been a convertible currency. Exchange offices are mainly located at the airport, hotels, markets, and banks, as well as in regional visa and registration departments. Most of the exchange offices in the city accept euros and US dollars. Other types of currency can only be exchanged at exchange offices located directly inside banks. In hotels, currency exchange offices work around the clock, 7 days a week.