The Republic of Tajikistan is a Muslim country and the official religion of the state is considered to Islam. But Islam is divided and religious groups. Namely Shiism and Sunnism.

Once upon a time, around the 17th century BC, the territory of modern the Republic of Tajikistan there were Buddhism, Zoroastrianism, Hinduism and Manichaeism.

Different directions into religion brought numerous Arab invasion of the territory of Tajikistan. Thus appeared Shiism and Sunnism. In turn, they also divide in directions. The Sunnis, in contrast to the Shiites do not recognize the possibility of mediation between men and God.

Nowadays, in the Republic of Tajikistan recorded more than 80 non-Muslim religious communities. On the territory of a State acts Dushanbe Diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church, as well, such communities were opened in the country as the Zoroastrian, Bahai, Judaic, and so forth.